Winter's coming - Reisverslag uit Costa Mesa, Verenigde Staten van Montana Roelvink - WaarBenJij.nu Winter's coming - Reisverslag uit Costa Mesa, Verenigde Staten van Montana Roelvink - WaarBenJij.nu

Winter's coming

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Montana

02 December 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Costa Mesa

NOV 2015
Pappieee!!!!!!! After three months I could finally see my dad again! It felt like an eternity. I drove home after my communication class, to see him standing at the parking lot. Lots and lots of hugs, but not for long, because I had to leave shortly after. I still had a Math class (exam day). I put my dad to work immediately; during my Math class he had to buy an air mattress and a sleeping bag. Because I have my own room my dad could stay in our apartment, so I could literally spend every second with him.

I could bet the first thing my dad would do back in America would be stopping by In&Out. Then secondly, eating the beef jerky I bought for him. He brought me lots of Dutch goodies (the biggest box of hagelslag to exist on the planet). In addition, he brought me clothes, which smelled like home. I think I hugged them for at least five minutes. The items my dad brought me would be immediately replaced in his suitcase by food and presents I bought for him, my mom and Chelle.

At my softball training my dad was very popular. He was offered a nice chair, received T-shirts and everybody waved and said goodbye when we left. We did the individual training, so he could only see me play for a half an hour. We were supposed to have a game the first weekend he would be here, but unfortunately it got cancelled. It would’ve been our last fall game.

After that practice I didn’t have any classes, and because it was so short we decided to go to Disneyland. The magical world that is 20minutes away. We went to the California Adventure Park, which parade was way nicer than the one in the Disneyland Park! What we didn’t know, is that it was ‘Epilepsy Day’. I believe people with epilepsy and their families received fast-passes, because the small line for the Cars ride turned into a 60minutes wait because the entire fast-pass lane was filled. They must’ve decided to all use their passes for Cars (not so fast after all).

The next morning we had breakfast at our beloved Sugar Shack. The best breakfast restaurant ever, right next to the beach, which we discovered thanks to Jacqui and Tim a year earlier. They mix coffee with hot chocolate and it’s delicious. We went to Ikea to buy a simple desk and this and that. Unfortunately I still have no room to decorate my ‘own new room’, because my roommate still didn’t pick up her huge bed.

Hoppakee; in my lovely car again, road trip to San Diego. But my lovely car had some difficulties. We were driving on the carpool lane, and out of nowhere we hear a certain noise, as if we were dragging something. PANIC ATTACK! One of my first thoughts was that I was so grateful my dad was sitting next to me. We were on the carpool lane, so I had to move all the way to the right to get of an exit, and then I still had to find somewhere to stop. By the time we stopped, the protection plate underneath my car was completely ripped in half. My dad said he could fix it, if only he had a screwdriver. I on the other hand kept screaming in his ear that we had to call AAA (wegenwacht). We drove a little further to a florist and borrowed a screwdriver. After several strategies my dad was able to take the plate off. My hero!

After San Diego my dad went on a three-day motorcycle trip, while I was in school. He came back on Wednesday night. I had that day of because of Veterans-day. We decided to go to Olive Garden for dinner, but due to Veterans-day, veterans got a discount. It was so busy! We decided to play mini golf and go karting in the dark, it was so much fun (except for the fact that my dad won at mini golf)! We also saw the awesome movie Spectre. Even though everything that happens in a James Bond movie has happened in all of the previous ones, it is still good. That weekend we went to San Diego again and went on a bike ride. We also went out for dinner to Benihana for Anniecks birthday. Back in Costa Mesa we went bowling and this time I won!

I am so happy and thankful to have my dad over. I had some difficult and lonely times. The best medication are my dads warm hugs. We had a lot of fun together. We had our last lunch in our beloved Huntington Beach.

On the softball team everything is going great. At the moment, we are looking for sponsors. We want to give our brand new reputation a great new look, so we’re looking for funds to buy new uniforms and gear. In addition, we write on a board in the dug-out what we’re thankful for every day. I really like that. It is good to thing about the fine things in life. A few weeks back, during a game against a Division 2 school, I got a line-drive straight on my pitching hand. It happened so fast, I had no time to think and for some reason I tried to catch it with two hands. At first my hand was in shock, I couldn’t move my fingers, but the pain soon disappeared completely. Odd.

What we're also doing is a shuttle test. Unfortunately it is nothing like the Dutch one. We have to sprint 100 yards ten times within 20seconds. When we start again in the spring, we have to make all ten within the 20 seconds or else we can't practice until we can. It is so strange, one day I can make all ten and the other I am dead after six. That shows that sleep, food, temperature and health are really important to give a good performance.

For Thanksgiving, I was invited by both my Coach and Steve and Debbie (family friends). I celebrated with Coach Jodie the Saturday before the official date. When I arrived, I was welcomed by big hugs from her family. No handshakes or kisses on the cheeks. At first I was quite startled, but after seeing how full of love Coach Jodie’s family is, I understood. I felt very welcome in this family event, everyone was so lovely and kind. It was not a traditional Thanksgiving, we ate Polynesian food (no turkey). Well, I did’t mind, because I love spare-ribs and ham. There was so much great food. I was even allowed to take a doggy-bag home to enjoy the meal the next day again. What I thought was weird, it that the deserts were pumpkin related. Pumpkin doughnuts, pumpkin cheesecake etc. After dinner we played some games. One I really liked, was "Maffia" (moordenaartje). We also played charades, but I wasn't really good at it. 'Something kids can climb on in a playground' was a klimrek to me, but I didn't not the English words. As a thank you, I gave Coach Jodie and Coach Munch a Almere T-shirt.

Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving, most classes were dismissed. Of course, my night class wasn’t (so my first class started at 7:15). This stopped me from going to San Diego a day early. Traffic was supposed to be bad due to everybody going home Thursday, so Marianna and I decided to go after my night class. We arrived in San Diego at 11:30 without any traffic. Turned out the next morning there wasn’t any either. Oh well.

The Thanksgiving at Steve and Debbie was amazing (and traditional!). Debbie had spent three days preparing and cooking, and it payed off. There was nothing I could complain about, not even a little bit. She made all the traditional dishes (turkey of 10kg(!!), gravy, stuffing, cranberry saus etc.) and she even made the deserts herself. Again, these deserts had pumpkin in them! So it turns out that it's traditional.

This was the last weekend I would see Marianna. She leaves December 2nd. That means that I drive alone now (and that I can sing along with the music).

PS. I don’t like wine that much, but Steve is a real wine expert. It was the first time I truly liked it.

PPS. It’s so cold here. I’m freezing. The heater in my apartment doesn't seem to work. I really don’t’ want to get out of bed in the morning. I don’t really have a jacket (left it in the Netherlands), so I go to my night classes with a sweater and a jumper.

PPPS. On the picture you can see how greatly decorated the American shoppingmalls are (South Coast Plaza had two Santa Clauses, how is that possible???)

  • 02 December 2015 - 07:34

    Mama:

    We can't imagine it being cold there when we see the photos with sun. It has been raining here for so long I don't know what the golf course looks like anymore.
    We are proud of you and all you are achieving there. Sports and academics. Hooefully you will be able to make friends in the new semester.
    Thanks to Coach Jodie, Steve and Debbie and Emy and Marcello for looking after you so well.

  • 02 December 2015 - 10:23

    Bob:

    Cold? Wait a couple of months. By then you be playing the competition also. Than we will get the old stories back: hothot hot hot. Love you.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Montana

Actief sinds 30 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 410
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13898

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juli 2015 - 31 December 2015

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: